Office of Operations
photos of traffic merging onto congested highway, congestion in snowstorm, variable message sign, cargo, variable speed limit sign in a work zone, and a freeway at night
21st century operations using 21st century technologies

FY 2022 Advanced Transportation Technology and Innovation (ATTAIN)

Awards - FHWA press release

FY22 ATTAIN Applicant States

FY22 ATTAIN Applicants by State


Vehicle-to-Infrastructure Enabled Rural Highway Traffic Control Signs
Mohave County, AZ

Southern California Mobility Wallet
California Department of Transportation

Delaware’s Traffic Management and Safety Traffic Management and Safety for Flooding Roadways and Vulnerable Road Users (AIITMS Flood and VRU)
Delaware Department of Transportation

ROUTE on US 50
Maryland Department of Transportation—State Highway Administration

Boston Regional Transit Signal Priority Program
Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority

Advanced Transportation Technology and Innovation (ATTAIN) Program “ATTAIN AACE 2.0: The Ann Arbor Connected Environment Reimagined”
University of Michigan

Minnesota's Autonomous Rural Transit Initiative (MARTI)
Department of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation, MN

Utah Connected Communities
Utah Department of Transportation

ATTAIN FY22 Applicant States

Advanced Transportation Technology and Innovation (ATTAIN) 2022 Map - 55 applications from 31 states
Source: FHWA

Applicants by State

Arkansas (1)

  • Rock Region Metropolitan Transit Authority

Arizona (2)

  • Flagstaff, City of
  • Mohave, County of

California (11)

  • California Department of Transportation
  • Fresno, City of
  • Manhattan Beach, City of
  • Palo Alto Research Center Incorporated
  • Pomona, City of
  • Richmond, City of
  • Sacramento Municipal Utility District
  • Sausalito, City of
  • Southern California Association of Governments
  • SunLine Transit Agency
  • University of California, Los Angeles

Colorado (2)

  • Breckenridge, Town of
  • Fort Collins, City of

Connecticut (1)

  • Connecticut Department of Transportation

Delaware (1)

  • Delaware Department of Transportation

Florida (3)

  • Florida Department of Transportation
  • Hillsborough, County of
  • Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority

Hawaii (1)

  • Hawaii Department of Transportation

Idaho (1)

  • Nampa, City of

Illinois (2)

  • Decatur, City of
  • Greater Peoria Mass Transit District

Indiana (1)

  • Indiana Department of Transportation

Massachusetts (1)

  • Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority

Maryland (1)

  • Maryland Department of Transportation

Maine (1)

  • Maine Department of Transportation

Michigan (1)

  • Capital Area Transportation Authority
  • Regents of the University of Michigan

Minnesota (1)

  • Department of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation

Missouri (1)

  • Kansas City, City of

North Carolina (3)

  • Charlotte, City of
  • North Carolina Department of Transportation (x2)

New Jersey (1)

  • Delaware River Port Authority

New Mexico (2)

  • Curry, County of
  • South Central Regional Transit District

Nevada (1)

  • Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada

New York (3)

  • Middletown, City of
  • New York, City of
  • Westchester, County of

Ohio (1)

  • Central Ohio Transit Authority

Oklahoma (1)

  • Edmond, City of

Pennsylvania (3)

  • Drexel University
  • Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
  • Susquehanna Regional Transportation Authority

South Carolina (1)

  • Greenville-Spartanburg Airport District

Tennessee (1)

  • Nashville & Davidson County, Metropolitan Government of

Texas (1)

  • North Central Texas Council of Governments

Utah (1)

  • Utah Department of Transportation

Virginia (2)

  • New River Valley Community Services
  • Virginia Department of Transportation

Wisconsin (1)

University of Wisconsin System